top of page

Please Judge A Book By Its Cover!

Okay. I know, I know. It's just a cover, right?

Just a bunch of words strung together with a picture in the background. A blend of colors that catches a reader's eye. Or doesn't. No big deal.

We see our share of them everyday. Online. At the grocery store. Hardcover or paperback. Large or small print. E-books. Adult books, young adult books, children's books. In every genre imaginable. They're everywhere. With the amount of authors emerging these days, what makes me think my book is any different than the multitude of books released daily?

The answer is...I know it's different. To me, anyway. And hopefully to others as well.

My fingers typed every word, sometimes flying over the keyboard, other times lagging. Each character, from the protagonist to the token bystander, came from my mind. Every decision they made came from my imagination. The setting, a made-up place.

I researched. Asked questions. And concocted everything from weapons to new modes of transportation.

So I know my book is different...because it's mine.

 

Some Background...

My Dad passed away unexpectedly three years ago. It was a shock to all of us, and we mourned. We still do.

When he was gone almost a year, an idea came to me. He is the inspiration for this novel, and that is why the book will be dedicated to him. I only regret that he never knew.

I've always liked to wear a watch, you see. I have a need to know what time it is at all hours of the day. Even when I'm on vacation. I inherited this trait from my Dad. I'm a lot like him. So I thought...hmm, maybe I could write a book about a watch. The idea consumed me until one day I just sat down and started typing.

I agonized over every word, poured over the manuscript so many times I lost count. Changing this. Tweaking that. Getting lost in the story...maybe as an escape from the grief that was a constant shadow over my entire family. I'll never know. But I know Dad was with me as I wrote.

 

Judge My Book By Its Cover

I can't know what will truly speak to my readers. Not really.

So it's okay if you judge my book by its cover. You have my blessing.

Just remember, it's more than just words and a picture. It represents the story. Everything on it was put there for a reason. The lightning bolts, the ocean background, the colors, the font...all chosen very carefully to represent not only the story, but my journey. A trek that has taken over two years to complete.

The book cover represents so much more than anyone will ever know.

I hope you enjoy it. I do. It makes me smile every time I look at it.

And my Dad would love it, too. This one's for you, Dad.

Release Date: February 1st, 2018

Black Rose Writing

“You can’t judge a book by its binding.” -African Journal American Speech (1944)

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page