top of page

Release Week Schedule


As the official release date approaches for my very first published children's picture book, I'd like to share my release week schedule so you can mark your calendar now!

I hope you can join me at one or all of the events. To accommodate busy schedules, I have local in-person events scheduled, as well as an online all-day event for those who don't live in the area or can't make it out to the events.

You may not know that the road from writing to publishing this story has been over two years in the making! It's been a long road, but it's well worth the wait!

The story of Jocelyn's Box of Socks was inspired by my Mom and her love of wearing socks with pictures on them, combined with my personal experiences in working with young children and their ever-fluctuating emotions. As a preschool teacher, I know how important emotional awareness is in developing social skills at an early age.

I put the two ideas together, and Jocelyn's Box of Socks was born.

About the book:

Jocelyn is a young girl who loves to wear socks ... everywhere. Once, she even wore them in the bathtub! When her grandparents send her a box of socks, she notices that there are feelings faces on them. The socks spark an idea. Jocelyn decides to always wear the socks that match her mood. Jocelyn soon discovers; however, that moods can and do change quickly, and she becomes frustrated with changing her socks all the time.

Check out this 'Sneak-Peak' reading of the beginning of Jocelyn's Box of Socks on YouTube at this link:

JOCELYN'S BOX OF SOCKS RELEASE WEEK SCHEDULE:

Tuesday, May 28, 2019 (*Release Day!) Book Reading and Celebration- I'll be visiting the Mifflin Community Library (My Home Library!) at 6 Philiadelphia Ave., Shillington, PA, at 9:30am during storytime to read JBOS followed by some fun activities. We'll celebrate with custom-made Jocelyn-themed cookies made by local business One Smart Cookie.

Tuesday, May 28, 2019 (Release Day!) All-Day Online Event- Join me all day on Facebook (@kristenjacksonauthor)! All you need to do is follow my page by clicking the 'Like' button, and check in throughout the day where I'll be posting giveaways, videos, quotes from the book, and little-known facts about JOCELYN'S BOX OF SOCKS! This is perfect way for those who can't make it to the live events to join in the celebration! (I'll be posting across my social media platforms, but the majority of posts will be on Facebook.)

Saturday, June 1, 2019, Release Week Ice-Cream Party!- I'll be visiting Sweet Ride Ice Cream located at 542 Penn Ave., West Reading, PA, 19611, from 12:00-2:00pm, with a scheduled book reading of JOCELYN'S BOX OF SOCKS at 12:30pm. I'll have books for sale, and I'd love to meet you, sign your book, and talk writing over an icecream treat - what better way to celebrate the release of a children's picture book than with icecream! (SPECIAL DEAL: ***I'm buying icecream for the first five people who either buy a book, or show me your already-purchased copy.***)

This event supports local businesses with a local author (Me!), a local small business (Sweet Ride), and a local publisher (Schiffer Publishing located in Atglen, PA.)

Monday, June 3, 2019, School Visit- I'll be visiting the students at Owatin Creek Elementary School, 5000 Boyertown Pike, Reading, PA 19606, to do a book reading of JOCELYN'S BOX OF SOCKS and talk about writing.

Wednesday, June 12, 2019, Author Visit- I'll be visiting Rita's in Pughtown, 2323 Pottstown Pike, Pughtown, PA from 6:30-8:00 pm to celebrate the release of JBOS and the end of the school year. Come out for italian ice, some fun book-themed activities, and a book reading of JOCELYN'S BOX OF SOCKS at 7:00 pm.

***Contact me at kristenjacksonauthor@yahoo.com to schedule an event!***

JOCELYN'S BOX OF SOCKS is available for pre-order now at the following links:

 

Keep On Reading!

Kristen

Find Me On:

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page