top of page

Little Free Library: Take A Book, Leave A Book

The Little Free Library organization promotes getting books into readers hands...for free! The idea is to place these inviting (and cute!) decorated boxes in locations that people will be able to easily access them, and fill them with books. The concept is simple. Take a book, leave a book. Everyone is invited to participate. There are no restrictions, hidden by-lines, or disclaimers. If you like to read, stop by and share. 

What a brilliantly profound concept. 

While researching for a book last summer in Cape Cod, I discovered several of these treasures scattered about and instantly fell in love.

After posting my photos on social media upon my return home, I was pleasantly surprised to discover some of these treasures located near home in Pennsylvania that I never knew about. 

My publisher, Black Rose Writing, recently sponsored a Little Free Library at a coffee shop near their home base in Texas, donating a wide variety of books to the cause.

I applaud the creator of these wonderful additions to society, and the people who sponsor them. As an avid reader and writer, I know the importance of getting reading material into the hands of readers. Libraries have been providing this free resource for a long time, but it's great to have members of the community actively involved in this important cause. 

I'm proud to say that the school I work for is in the process of sponsoring one right in my building. The exchange box was donated to us by a student's family. Children at the local career center are sanding it and painting it for us. This is truly a group effort to provide this wonderful addition to our local community. Students and their families will have books available (for free!) all the time. That alone makes me smile. And I can't wait to see the smiles on the faces of countless readers and future-readers as they enjoy the books provided.

Bet you can guess what the first donated book will be! You got it! KEEPER OF THE WATCH will have a permanent home for people to borrow, as well as any future books of mine. I'm proud to be a part of this great accomplishment, no matter how small the role I played in its placement.

Thank you, Little Free Library. And thank you to all the sponsors and people who make it possible.

Keep on reading! 

Kristen

"You can find magic wherever you look. Sit back and relax, all you need is a book." -- Theodore Geisel (Dr. Seuss)

 

Kristen L. Jackson, Author of KEEPER OF THE WATCH

Available Now:

Find Me On:

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page