top of page

Peace in the Eyes of a Dog


Happy National Dog Day! Every day is Dog Day in my house. As you know, my dogs are a part of our family.

Here's a little something I wrote a while back. It was originally intended to be a children's picture book, but I haven't done anything with it.

Thought it would be perfect today.

PEACE IN THE EYES OF A DOG

By Kristen L. Jackson

In the eyes of a dog,

you can be you, and I can be me.

In the eyes of a dog,

everyone is equal and free.

In the eyes of a dog,

colors are all the same.

In the eyes of a dog,

there is never cause for blame.

In the eyes of a dog,

no worries, fights, or jeers.

In the eyes of a dog,

you cherish all your years.

In the eyes of a dog,

just a touch is a delight.

In the eyes of a dog,

the future’s always bright.

In the eyes of a dog,

you help me and I’ll help you.

In the eyes of a dog,

Sometimes help for nothing too.

In the eyes of a dog,

we talk and then shake hands.

In the eyes of a dog,

We share all the lands.

In the eyes of a dog,

We are best friends, you and me.

In the eyes of a dog,

if only everyone could see,

Through the eyes of a dog…

 

Kristen L. Jackson, Author of KEEPER OF THE WATCH

Available Now:

*Book Two, MAGIC HARBOR, Coming 10/10/19!

Pre-Order Now:

JOCELYN’S BOX OF SOCKS

Available Now:

Find Me On:

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page