top of page

To Kindle, Or Not To Kindle...Where Do YOU Stand?

As little as a year ago, I was very firm in my belief that I did, and always would, prefer a paper book to an electronic version.

Everything about a 'real book' was preferable to me.

The smell of aged paper, the smooth feel of the page under my fingertips, even the crisp sound as I flip the page. Ah, yes...there is nothing quite like holding a book in your hands while engrossed between its covers.

In this age of electronics, I was not about to allow a digital screen take the place of a book in my hands. My husband and I both agreed, e-books were for the younger generation. Our children's generation. Electronics would not win this battle. At least with us.

I was so sure that I could not be turned to the dark side of e-reading.

My middle-aged self threw back her shoulders and stood tall, preparing to win this battle of the books at any cost. Never back down, never surrender!

 

And then...

I was given a Kindle Paperwhite for Christmas last year.

The backlight had caught my attention, and I thought maybe - just maybe - I'd like to give it a try. No need for the ceiling light, or an awkward book light...

Though the door had opened the tiniest of cracks, doubts still crept in:

I bet the battery will die when I'm in the middle of an essential scene...

The electronics will freeze at some point, leaving me stranded right before the ending...

What if I can't figure out how to work this thing?

How does a book get from my computer screen and onto my Kindle, anyway?

I had myself convinced of failure without even giving it a chance.

Despite my many misgivings, the little voice persisted. How do you know you don't like it if you've never tried it?

Advice I have given to others countless times over the years. To my sons. To my students. To friends.

Sigh.

Okay, fine. So how do you even turn this thing on?

 

A miracle happened.

I tried it ... and I loved it!

Not only is it easy to find the power button, but I've never had any problems with the screen freezing up.

The battery stays charged for weeks. And it warns you when power is getting low.

It's super easy to use, and I can even enlarge the print. I can see the words without holding it at arm's length (my fellow 40-somethings can relate, I'm sure!)

Downloading books is actually easier than shopping for them, all you need is an active Amazon account, and books magically appear on your Kindle almost instantly after purchasing. And many of them are much cheaper than the paper versions.

Oh, I'll still pick up paper books from time to time, but I'll make a deep, dark confession here and now.

I actually prefer reading on my Kindle.

Yes, I did say I prefer e-books to paper books. Hard to believe, I know.

This is not an ad for Kindle and Amazon. This is only my personal experience with converting from paper to e-books.

But I'm here to tell you if I can use an e-book reader, then you can, too!

Don't knock it until you try it.

Keep on Reading!

 

Kristen L. Jackson, Author of KEEPER OF THE WATCH release date 2/1/18

Available for Pre-order at:

Find Me On:

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page